I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUAHAN 2012 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 624-31 (LS)

Introduced by:

B. J.F. Cruz
T. C. Ada
V. A. Ada
F. F. Blas, Jr.
Chris M. Dueñas
J. P. Guthertz, DPA
Sam A. Mabini, Ph.D.
T. R. Muña Barnes
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.
V. C. Pangelinan
R. J. Respicio
Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.
M. Silva Taijeron
Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.
Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to commending and congratulating Eileen Meno on being awarded the title of "*Master of Chamorro Dance*" by the Guam Council on the Arts and Humanities Agency.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN* 2 GUAHAN:

3 WHEREAS, Ms. Eileen Meno received her education from *Inarajan* 4 Elementary School, *Inarajan* High School, and the University of Guam, where she 5 earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in *Chamorro* Language Studies; and

6 WHEREAS, in 1991, Ms. Meno began her cultural studies as an apprentice of

7 Mr. Frank Rabon, *Master of Chamorro Dance*; and she studied under the auspices of

8 Mr. Rabon for twenty-one (21) years; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Meno's contribution to the preservation of the *Chamorro* culture continues through her integration of *Chamorro* dance, songs, and chants in her
 Chamorro language courses which she taught previously at Untalan Middle School,
 and currently at George Washington High School; and

5 WHEREAS, in 2000, Ms. Meno spearheaded the formation of the school-based 6 group, "*Famagu'on Oro*", now known as "*Guma Irensian Taotao Tano*", which 7 received awards and certifications from schools, civic organizations, government 8 agencies, private businesses and tourism entities across the island; and

9 WHEREAS, alongside such contributions, Ms. Meno has represented the 10 *Chamorro* people as a member of *Guma Irensian Taotao Tano*' at the Festival of 11 Pacific Arts, and the World Cultural Festivals in the United States (1998), Taiwan 12 (1999 and 2001), Europe (2001), South Korea (2002 and 2003), and Mexico (2002); 13 and with the Guam Visitors Bureau in promotional tours throughout the Asia-Pacific 14 region and the United States; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Meno and *Guma Irensian Taotao Tano'* have invaluably contributed to the preservation and growth of the *Chamorro* tradition and culture through their performances and through the provision of volunteer services to the elderly and the underprivileged members of society; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Meno has fostered a sense of civic responsibility and cultural
 preservation in our island's youth through her work with the community, and with
 Guma Irensian Taotao Tano'; and

WHEREAS, alongside her contributions to *Chamorro* culture and tradition, Ms. Meno has contributed over three thousand six hundred (3600) volunteer service hours to AmeriCorps; she has served as *Taotao Manaitai, Kantora* and *Manufong Limosna* at *San Isidro* Church; and she had been nominated by Untalan Middle School as the 2005 Humanities Traditional Teacher of the Year; and 1 WHEREAS, Ms. Meno's nomination herein has been recommended by 2 esteemed institutions as varied as the Guam Department of Education, *Inarajan* 3 Middle School, the *Barrigada* Mayor's Office, *San Isidro* Catholic Church, and the 4 Division of *Chamorro* Affairs of the Guam Council on the Arts and Humanities 5 Agency; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby,
on behalf of the people of Guam, commend and congratulate Eileen Meno on being
awarded the title of *Master of Chamorro Dance* by the Guam Council on the Arts and
Humanities Agency; and be it further

10 **RESOLVED,** that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, 11 the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Eileen 12 Meno; to Mr. Joseph Artero Cameron, President, Guam Council on the Arts and 13 Humanities Agency; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÁHAN* ON THIS 26TH DAY OF NOVEMBER 2012.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed. D. Speaker

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary